Christ Alone

To be mature is to be basic. Christ! No more, no less. Colossians 1:28

Paul said that he didn’t come to preach eloquently or with lofty wisdom. This verse is why. It’s only about Jesus. A while back a lot of people were reading the book In His Steps. It was about all the Christians in one town before they made any decisions asking the question What would Jesus do? It has become cliché now but it really is what this little verse says. What we do, what we think, what we say, how we feel should be simply and purely Jesus.

I long for that in me. To have a healing touch, more importantly a compassionate heart and a loving touch. Like the song says Break my heart for what breaks Yours. His heart is people if they were hurting while He was on earth He touched the hurt and healed the physical and spiritual wound. Prayer is what Jesus would do. When the winds and the waters went haywire He said peace be still. That power comes only from spending time with the Lord. We may or may not have that kind of power but we can grow more powerful and confident to move our own spiritual mountains by being with Christ.

Then He laid down His life for us. I bristle at sacrifice. He poured out Himself every moment He was here. And then He poured out His blood to cleanse us and broke His body to spiritually heal us. I love Him. Lord, I have so far to go but I want to pour myself out. I want to give and pray and love so that I will be Jesus to each person.

Leave a Reply

