He Listens, He Hears

You’re my God; have mercy on me. I count on you from morning to night. 4 … I put myself in your hands! 5 You’re well-known as good and forgiving, bighearted to all who ask for help. 6 Pay attention, God, to my prayer; bend down and listen to my cry for help.  Psalm 86:3-6

Have mercy on me…the gift of mercy is kind of like compassion where your heart breaks for someone’s predicament. But not only do you have tender feelings you do something to soothe or remedy the situation. That’s what David is asking of God. Ease my heart and help me with my plight.

You’re well-known as good and forgiving, bighearted to all who ask for help…l’ve sinned in ways I’ll never tell anyone.  But I’ve found God to be a sweet, prodding Seeker to listen to my sins and a healing, loving, forgiving  Friend. 

Bighearted sounds to  me like “the Man Upstairs” but our Holy, Eternal, Almighty God is bighearted. He accepts anyone who asks for help. We may be clumsy at asking, we’re always a sinner when we ask, we may be homeless when we ask, or we may  not have words, only a heart to ask. But if we come before Him humbly, no matter what condition we’re in we will find a gracious, giving heart. There’s no Home like God’s heart. 

…bend down and listen to my cry…My Worship Minister had a little girl about four years old. One night at choir practice she came and stayed because she wasn’t feeling well. Half way through the evening she came up to her daddy and he bent down to talk to her. They spoke for a few minutes interrupting our choir practice. Then he sat her on the stool and she seemed to feel better. That’s our God. When we need to talk He interrupts heaven and comes down to earth to hear our hurt and then puts us in a place where we’ll feel better even if it’s only because we’re so greatly loved by a tenderhearted God.

2 thoughts on “He Listens, He Hears

  1. Donna, that was beautiful! Such a picture of the Father’s Love. Our Abba Father turns His gaze towards us. What a sweet post that makes me want to run to my Father’s arms.

    Thank you for sharing! (I also left you a reply on the comment you made on my blog.)

    God bless you!
    Beth

Leave a Reply

