Listen

30 “I can’t do a solitary thing on my own: I listen, then I decide. You can trust my decision because I’m not out to get my own way but only to carry out orders. 31 If I were simply speaking on my own account, it would be an empty, self-serving witness. 32 But an independent witness confirms me, the most reliable Witness of all. John 5:30-32 MSG

He quiets Himself, he asks His Father, “What should I do?” He listens, He hears and He follows. When He does this lives are healed, not just limbs or eyes. I need to slow down. I need to find that quiet place within my mind. I need to listen and then decide and then follow.

Last night we were worshiping and part of the song said Jesus is the Cornerstone. It dawned on me that when the world is turning too fast and my thoughts are whizzing by that my Jesus, my Cornerstone is my quiet place, my place of peace. I can sneak in there and find grace to face life with peace and joy.

Jesus wasn’t about “Me” or how He felt or what He thought. He was a man and He could have easily done things in the way His human mind told Him to. But it would have been self-serving. He would have pleased Himself and we would have missed out on His touch, and His loving ways and His wisdom that all came from His Father’s heart.

How often I feel like I’ve acted or spoken from an empty, self-serving heart. Heavenly Father, help me go to the Cornerstone, where I can find quiet to hear Your heart for the people around me. Then, please help me follow. I love you. Show me how to love others. Help me listen

2 thoughts on “Listen

Leave a Reply

