Alone

Jesus saw that in their enthusiasm, they were about to grab him and make him king, so he slipped off and went back up the mountain to be by himself. John 6:15

Often Jesus chose to be by Himself. Many times He went to the garden or on a mountain after dinner and spent the evening there. Sometimes He spent His early mornings there. And then there were times it was all night that he needed for what He was facing. This time He was forced to go off by Himself or end up king of a realm He wasn’t created for. So this might not be what He had desired to do.

We can go off by ourselves by choice or by force. It’s so good to turn off the TV or FB and sit down and listen to His voice or tell Him our joys and troubles. Sometimes because of illness or other reasons we’re forced to be alone. Then we might have a lot of time to devote to Him but we may be a little resentful. I wonder if Jesus struggled with that. He was misunderstood, chased down with a crown for His head, and no one seemed to know how He loved them. If He was tempted with resentment He immediately gave it to God and that might be why He went off to be by Himself.

By choice or by force time with Him is a gift. The other day I was struggling with prayer. So I went through each request and asked the Holy Spirit to speak words that I didn’t have. As I did this there was a deep peace that came over me. My concerns were in His hands. Not because I was eloquent or wise but I was inadequate. I had no choice but to give it to Him.

Leave a Reply

