My Safe Place

Psalm 91:9 Yes, because God’s your refuge, the High God your very own home

Rich Mullins sang this song about living in a Larger Home than those made of wood or cement. For a girl, at least for me, my home is an intimate, pretty place of safety and protection. So when God is our Home it speaks to me that the sun rises or the fire is warm in my Home, my God, my Savior, my Safe Place larger than my tiny home.

There’s more that rises in the morning 
Than the sun 
And more that shines in the night 
Than just the moon 
It’s more than just this fire here 
That keeps me warm 
In a shelter that is larger 
Than this room 

And there’s a loyalty that’s deeper 
Than mere sentiments 
And a music higher than the songs 
That I can sing 
The stuff of Earth competes 
For the allegiance 
I owe only to the Giver 
Of all good things 

So if I stand let me stand on the promise 
That you will pull me through 
And if I can’t, let me fall on the grace 
That first brought me to You 
And if I sing let me sing for the joy 
That has born in me these songs 
And if I weep let it be as a man 
Who is longing for his home 

There’s more that dances on the prairies 
Than the wind 
More that pulses in the ocean 
Than the tide 
There’s a love that is fiercer 
Than the love between friends 
More gentle than a mother’s 
When her baby’s at her side 

And there’s a loyalty that’s deeper 
Than mere sentiments 
And a music higher than the songs 
That I can sing 
The stuff of Earth competes 
For the allegiance 
I owe only to the Giver 
Of all good things 

So if I stand let me stand on the promise 
That you will pull me through 
And if I can’t let me fall on the grace 
That first brought me to You 
And if I sing let me sing for the joy 
That has born in me these songs 
And if I weep let it be as a man 
Who is longing for his home  

And if I weep let it be as a man 
Who is longing for his home 

Psalm 91:9 Yes, because God’s your refuge, the High God your very own home

One thought on “My Safe Place

Leave a Reply

