Alone but Not

Here’s what I want you to do: Find a quiet, secluded place so you won’t be tempted to role-play before God. Just be there as simply and honestly as you can manage. The focus will shift from you to God, and you will begin to sense his grace. Matthew 6:6

My prayer life I struggle with sometimes. It gets dull or nonexistent. This beautiful verse revives my desire to pray. It even tells me how to bring back the sincerity and warmth to my prayer.

I guess the role-playing before God was what the Pharisees did and what we tend to do when being watched. We can become holy and proud of it and we forget we have an issue to take before our Savior.

So, we go someplace quiet and secluded. Sometimes that’s our room, sometimes it’s a park, sometimes it’s a crowded room where we pull inside for a moment and say, Lord I need Your touch. The important thing is that it’s simple and honest.

That way the focus is not on our holiness and our pride but on God and Him being invited and able to intervene with His mercy in our situation. And we’ll have the warm, calming awareness of His grace.

3 thoughts on “Alone but Not

Leave a Reply

