A Twinkle In His Eye

She said to her husband, “Behold now, I perceive that this is a holy man of God passing by us continually. Please, let us make a little walled upper chamber and let us set a bed for him there, and a table and a chair and a lampstand; and it shall be, when he comes to us, that he can turn in there.” (2 Kings 4:9, 10 NASB)

Sometimes spiritual waters run deep. A little, spunky lady we’ll call the Shunimmite cause that’s where she lived was praying for a boy. She was barren and she loved her husband and wanted to give him a boy. That’s not to say she wouldn’t be tickled herself. A few years ago she began “Dear Lord, would you give me a boy? I’ll love him and show him how to love You. And my husband (we’ll call Lemuel) needs him on the farm and would love him without end. Not long after her daily prayer began a holy man of God named Elisha came through Shunnim. As he was answering questions from time to time She asked him once “Why does the Lord I love and that loves me…why does He keep good gifts from His children?  Elisha said, dear woman sometimes it’s to draw you nearer to Himself. She understood completely because her strongest desire was to be near.

You can tell Lemuel wasn’t henpecked. He was happy to please her. She said, Honey, Elisha has been coming through town. He’s good-hearted, full of the Lord’s power and I feel like not only could we provide a place for him to stay but we could learn from him too. So, a little smile rested itself on the husband’s face and a twinkle was in his eye and  he said, Love, tell me exactly what you want. She listed all the pieces of furniture and said i’ll go shopping for the hardware at the blacksmith if you’ll give me a list.  He said those men treat women like property. She said I’ll be all right Honey, i promise. They can’t get away with any shenanigans with me. So they went their separate ways. He started the carpentry work, finished it up with her hardware and they put it in an upper room.A trading of roles for a moment, where the man longs to please his wife  is sweet and right and rare.

Elisha came through often and stayed with the Shunimmite and Lemuel. They grew close and were nearer to the Lord because of each other. One day Elisha came to the Shunimmite and said, “You are so gracious to take me in and provide for me. I want to do something  for you.” “Next year at this time you’ll have a bouncing baby boy.” The Shunimmite woman said, “Don’t be lying to me.” Elisha said, “I promise to you. I wouldn’t lie to someone whose family has become so important to me.”

It happened just as Elisha said. What she had prayed for silently, in private, in her closet so to speak, was answered in the open for all to enjoy most of all her.

One thought on “A Twinkle In His Eye

  1. Pingback: A Mystic Vision at Daybreak 021312 « Mennonite Preacher

Leave a Reply

