To Love and to Cherish

Hosea, I’m going to talk to you about something joyful yet a bit confusing for you.

Lord,, to tell You the truth You’re always a bit confusing, I guess because You’re God.  So go ahead and let’s talk.

Hosea it’s time for you to take a bride.

Ok, who Lord? What about the girl who’s tall and has long straight hair. She’s beautiful Lord. May I marry her? 

No. Hosea this is where  it gets confusing. I want you to choose as your bride to love and cherish from this day forward, Gomer.

Lord, she’s a lady of the evening. But if I heard what you’re telling me, Gomer needs love like any girl does, probably even more love.

That’s my Hosea, the only one I can trust with this calling.

Hosea married Gomer and took her into his tent and into his heart. They had several children but Gomer kept running away.  Hosea as tender hearted  as he was finally had to leave her out there until she was destitute. So she would come back to stay. This was difficult for Hosea. He missed her terribly.

The day came when the Lord said go to her. Woo her to you. She hungers to hear you talk kindly to her. She needs to have the assurance that she’ll no longer lie down with cruel men but she’ll be safe next to you  Hosea. You’ll be married again. We’ll have another ceremony.and you’ll be married forever. She’ll never run away again because you treat her with loving kindness and compassion.

It is I who answer and look after you. I am like a luxuriant cypress; From Me comes your fruit. (Hosea 14:8 NASB)

“I will betroth you to Me forever; Yes, I will betroth you to Me in righteousness and in justice, In lovingkindness and in compassion, (Hosea 2:19 NASB)

Leave a Reply

