Holiness a Gift

This is fiction and not meant to represent any particular person..

My best friend, Caleb, has a bow and a quiver of arrows that he uses at target practice and to hunt sweet dear in season. He and I have some good discussions about hunting.

But today as I was watching him at target practice he hit the bullseye 29 out of 30 times. Then all of a sudden he shot the bow and the arrow didn’t even make it to the target! I laughed! It was funny to me cause he’s so good so he started chuckling too. I said “what happened?” He said “I’ve got no idea. I guess I wasn’t paying attention!” he said he was ready to let me practice if I wanted. So I tried. Guess what happened! Guess! Every, not just some, but every arrow and I shot ten, every arrow fell before it hit the target! Shows how dainty I am, I guess. Caleb offered to help me. So I said sure. He said take the bow like you’re going to shoot it. Now. I,m gonna stand behind you and hold the bow and pull the string back. Went in the target five times out of five. I asked him how he did that. He said guys are just better than girls! I said not at all things. 

I told him “that’s funky because we’re studying that in Bible Study.” and he said “you’re studying hunting?” I said no, that we were studying the arrow not hitting the target. When the Bible says all fall short of the……”.Oooooohhhhhh. He said, we fall short of being holy! Ha! I’m holier than you!” “Yeah maybe but I’m humbler than you!”

“aaannnnyyy way I wanted to tell you one more thing. God makes you and I holy in His eyes as a gift to me and you. He’s the Justifier that sent His Son to cover our sins so we don’t have to bear the guilt or the punishment.”

‘Wow, Dawn, you’ve learned some meaningful info in there. Can I come to that Bible Study? ” he said with a grin. I told Caleb “nooooooo. It’s for girls only! I’ve told you that!” He said he just was trying again!

for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, being justified as a gift by His grace through the redemption which is in Christ Jesus; (Romans 3:23, 24 NASB)

Leave a Reply

