Great Calm

And, behold, there arose a great tempest in the sea, insomuch that the ship was covered with the waves: but he was asleep. And his disciples came to him, and awoke him, saying, Lord, save us: we perish. And he saith unto them, Why are ye fearful, O ye of little faith? Then he arose, and rebuked the winds and the sea; and there was a great calm. (Matthew 8:24-26 KJV)

Fiction

I don’t allow my trust in Him. I don’t let belief come. I work on it, trying so much to fix it. I change this. I tweak that. I think positive. But the waves of frustration flow over my heart, waves of worry crashing on my soul, disturbing the mind that really just needs to trust. 

Once I’m afraid, once I realize Who I need, I go to my Savior. He seems strangely silent for a while. I confess I’m sorry for not holding His hand and receiving His help.  And I confess my refusal to trust. I begin to hear His voice whisper Peace. Peace. Peace be still. 

And a great calm falls on me. I so needed the calm, and it’s healing for it to not be slight but great. The great calm fills me until it overflows in tears of peace, tears of comfort, tears of gratefulness. 

Great calm. How my soul needs Him.

One thought on “Great Calm

Leave a Reply

