Gifts from Him

There’s a principle that is a gem hidden inside God’s word. I for one forget it because it is little talked about. Iit’s only more valuable because of that. When we hear it it humbles us. Something this girl needs day by day, moment by moment is humbling.

There are several obscure places this principle is found but here are two of the more prominent ones. In Daniel, King Nebuchadnezzar begins counting all he has and all “he” has conquered. In a sense he takes time to worships himself a bit. God took issue with that!  He even deals with pagan kings to teach them and grow them. God caused animal fur and long, tough fingernails to grow on him and he went out into the forest to graze grass. One year later King Neb came to his senses and immediately worshiped God. Why? Because – here’s the gem – God gave Neb everything Nebuchadnezzar possessed. Neb did nothing to conquer without God’s hand providing the victory. There were no spoils without them being sifted through God’s hand before Neb received therm.

David, sinned by adultery, murder and cover-up, in other words lying to God. so that God was angry enough to kill him but chose not to because he repented. David not only brought shame to God’s name but he didn’t recognize that God gave him everything he owned and would have given him all he asked for if he just had. Instead he chose to steal a person, snuff out a life. And he falsified reality to keep his reputation and hide from God. 

God is gracious to me. All I have He has given. I am profoundly rich in love and family and friends. For me to worry is to question His care and His ability to keep me. 

Thank You for Your love and care  and your gifts of graciousness. I am held securely in You as are my family and friends. Forgive, please my worry. Help me nestle in the security of you. In Jesus’ name. Amen. 

Nathan replied to David, “You are the man! This is what the Lord God of Israel says: ‘I anointed you king over Israel, and I delivered you from the hand of Saul. I gave your master’s house to you and your master’s wives into your arms, and I gave you the house of Israel and Judah, and if that was not enough, I would have given you even more. (2 Samuel 12:7, 8 HCSB)

Leave a Reply

