Ablaze

Therefore, I remind you to keep ablaze the gift of God that is in you through the laying on of my hands. (2 Timothy 1:6 HCSB)

Around Christmas there are fires to keep us warm, fires that are beautiful, fires in poetic songs. There is a science to keeping a fire going. It needs heat from two logs. It needs air circulation between them. There are other factors that maintain the flame that I am certainly not an expert on.

For us at Christmas we can get busy and the blaze of who we are called to be goes dim. It happens to me. I watch the world around me and forget that God told me within He loves me and He wants to keep my heart warm with that love. That love is for me but also for my friend and my great nephew and for the bank teller.

This Christmas I want to read Scripture. I want to talk with God. I want to be close to loved ones. Prayer is something I’m always learning at. I just have a basic idea of prayer. Talking with God should be so simple but I find it difficult. I’m learning to just be honest and tell Him my sins, issues, joys, requests.

Lord, please teach me to pray. I want to be ablaze this Christmas Season. Thank You that I can hold in my heart Your love. Help me also give a bit away to those I meet.

Leave a Reply

