Mary, a Mom

Then she gave birth to her firstborn Son, and she wrapped Him snugly in cloth and laid Him in a feeding trough — because there was no room for them at the lodging place. (Luke 2:7 HCSB)

Mary came in to the home she had lived in since she was a baby and was worried. Her forehead was furrowed and her voice tight. “Mom, Joseph told me some strange news. He and I will have to go to Bethlehem.” “Why dear?” “Mom, because Caesar is doing a silly survey. It’s going to be right when our boy is due! Mom, what will I do without you?” Mom, very lovingly said “We’ll discuss every, single detail so we can tell Joseph how to deliver your boy and you’ll have all the instructions I learned when you five kids were born.”

“Mary, this will be good training for you. From what you’ve told me you’ve got an eventful and difficult life ahead with your boy Jesus. You’ll need to be prepared to be strong.” Mary said, with tears in her eyes, “I will, Mom, I’m taking this a day at a time in my heart, sometimes my mouth gets ahead of my heart. But I’m going to be ok, promise.”

“OK, dear, let’s talk first hours and days. The birth we’ll talk about with Joseph when he comes to visit you so I’ll be there to answer questions. When you wrap Him in cloths be sure they’re snug, because it’ll make Him feel secure. Babies love to be held by those closest to him, you and Joseph. Strangers not so much, I’d advise.. You’ll need to put Him down sometime but be sure to hold Him as much as possible so he gets lots of loving in. Sing to Him and talk to Him … He’s heard yours and Joseph’s voice in the womb. He’ll love you two right away.” Mary said, “Mom I already love my boy. I’m ready to hold him and touch his nose and his fingers.”

Mary was pondering on all of this as she wrapped her boy snugly, hugged Him, kissed His nose and put him down to sleep a little, Mary and Jesus both needed a nap. She missed her mom but she knew that Joseph was a good hearted man. And she was compelled, heart and soul to watch out for Jesus, and please her Father in Heaven. She was on an adventure.

2 thoughts on “Mary, a Mom

  1. Pingback: Missed Annunciation — There’s More to Mary « A Robin Hood's Musing

Leave a Reply

