Again they cried openly. Orpah kissed her mother-in-law good-bye; but Ruth embraced her and held on. But Ruth said, “Don’t force me to leave you; don’t make me go home. Where you go, I go; and where you live, I’ll live. Your people are my people, your God is my god; where you die, I’ll die, and that’s where I’ll be buried, so help me God —not even death itself is going to come between us!” (Ruth 1:14, 16, 17 MSG)

Savior,

Orpah and Ruth deeply loved their mother-in-law. Ruth wouldn’t let her leave without her. I want to say something that may not be theology. But it’s what’s in my heart. Elimilech had passed on when Ruth came into the family. The two sons married She and Orpah for love and also to give to Naomi grandchildren. They felt her despair. They probably loved her by hugs, wiping her tears and maybe by joking around a bit as time went on. Ruth watched and treasured this in her heart. As Naomi responded with a smile or a hug Ruth watched Naomi’s God at work. There was love in this family that was expressed in a tangible way. Love that melded everyone’s heart together.

When Ruth and Naomi lost her sons Naomi became inconsolable. Ruth knew what to do by her husband’s love that was treasured in her heart. She did her best. She loved the way they all had taken her in and loved each other. Actually she did more than her best she stubbornly said “no, i will not let you go without me Naomi.” What a love they had shared.

Lord, i know nothing of Calvary love. (Amy Carmichael)

Calvary Love

Calvary Love

Calvary Love
Donna

Leave a Reply

