The Vine

He plowed the land, cleared its stones, and planted it with the best vines. In the middle he built a watchtower and carved a winepress in the nearby rocks. Then he waited for a harvest of sweet grapes, but the grapes that grew were bitter. (Isaiah 5:2 NLT)

Sometimes i feel like I am complaining a bit too much, if not out loud, in my heart. I want God to find sweet grapes in me instead. It’s what I was meant for. “Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5 NLT)

The folks in Isaiah, like me, must not have stayed near their God. God did His work plowing, clearing, planting. But something happened and the Israelites became bitter. God can work hard on us but we have the choice to worship, to love, to pray, to stay near Our Savior. Without Him … Bitter grapes, complaining heart.

I as a single adult and we as single adults can complain due to all kinds of things. Our last love mistreated us or people in church ignore us or for some of us girls Mothers’ Day is rough. These are troubles that are difficult to deal with. I’d like to stop complaining. I want sweet grapes in my heart, head so that my mouth speaks out of the overflow. I won’t grow sweet grapes immediately. But hopefully I’ll grow joyful and sweet if I’ll abide in Jesus and His words abide in me. image

Leave a Reply

