We are only Dust

Remember not the sins (the lapses and frailties) of my youth or my transgressions; according to Your mercy and steadfast love remember me, for Your goodness’ sake, O Lord. (Psalm 25:7 AMP)

I love this verse. We all mess up. When i was younger, little in fact, i would put my little sister up to doing something wrong so I wouldn’t get in trouble. It was fun … We got extra food before we went to bed and no one worried about it. That is, until Mom and Dad caught on.

I’ve made other mistakes, bigger ones than that, that i was afraid I’d be in trouble for. But God has mercy, steadfast love and goodness. I almost married the wrong person because I lied. I pushed a girl in 6th grade. There’s others but they’ll be my secrets.

Of all the mean, selfish things I did God doesn’t hold me responsible to pay penance for them. He forgives me. Because He’s big? Because He doesn’t care? No. It’s because He has a heart of mercy. He knows that we were created from dust and are incapable of doing very much right on our own. “For He knows our frame, He [earnestly] remembers and imprints [on His heart] that we are dust.” (Psalm 103:14 AMP)

He also has His love to pour out on us. And it’s in a pitcher that won’t run out, it’s steadfast. His goodness makes Him want to forgive. He forgives day after day those who confess and are trying to walk near Him.

One thought on “We are only Dust

  1. God knows the hidden places of the heart. The strength, the power that comes through us into the world We observe our will — the ways it focuses our attention and makes possible our journeys and the ways in which our will hinders us, blocks our vision, encourages our arrogance, anger and fears. Practice for today: Notice your impatience, your defiance and inclination to do battle. Notice moments of responding to yourself and others harshly. Do your best to breathe into these moments with love. Do your best to surround these inclinations with compassion. We bow to the goodness that we are as we open to the guidance that flows through us from the Highest Will.

Leave a Reply

