Grace Me Lord

But You, O Lord, are a shield for me, my glory, and the lifter of my head. With my voice I cry to the Lord, and He hears and answers me out of His holy hill. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]! I lay down and slept; I wakened again, for the Lord sustains me. (Psalm 3:3-5 AMP)

David was in danger. Much of his country was against him. His son had tried to take his throne. He cried out in anger in verses earlier but in these, still in the midst of trouble he began praising his Helper. “You are my protection in disaster. Even though I am a mess from being hunted YOU are my glory.
image
And you lift my head to give me dignity I don’t deserve because of what I did to Uriah and Bathsheba.” He talked to God then had so much peace that He went to sleep and awakened with Him near having given David exactly the grace he needed to get him through the next day.

Maybe God whispered over David that night, “I love you. You are Mine. I will keep you and hold you near Me all during your battles. You are forgiven and white as snow is your heart. You remain within My heart from your tears and prayers for forgiveness. I’ll honor your name through the ages.”

Leave a Reply

