Talk Speaks and so does the Hustle

In all labor there is profit, but idle talk leads only to poverty. (Proverbs 14:23 AMP)

I tell the things which I have seen and learned at My Father’s side, and your actions also reflect what you have heard and learned from your father. (John 8:38 AMP)

My brother and I had taken a trip to Miami from Central Florida. I had two cups of coffee that morning rather than my usual one and I was odd for me. I chattered away almost all the way down there. I said some important words and said some rather idle words. But I was entertained by me for four hours.

I desire to sit at my Father’s side long enough to have something worthy to give. Jesus is our example here in how to be wise. Jesus talked to the people not in high, holy words but simple everyday stories that He had received from Abba, our God and His and our Father.

A short story comes to mind when in a simple way by words and actions someone was Jesus to me. My legs were a little misformed when a baby. So I was an extra awkward teenager. A popular guy acquaintance of mine came to me when we had free time on a youth group camping trip. He said “Wanna do the hustle?” It was a popular dance with fun foot moves. I could tell he was genuine so I said “Sure.” He spent 15 minutes teaching me the foot moves. I had so much fun! I did pretty good by the end of his free, sweet lesson. What a kindness from someone who didn’t have to pay attention to me. That’s Jesus. And it wasn’t idle for this heart of mine.

Leave a Reply

